• Richmond County Schools Graduation Requirements

    Students enrolled in Grade 9 for the first time during 2015-16  (Class of 2020)


    To earn a high school diploma, students must earn the specified 23 Carnegie units.





    English/Language Arts

    4 Units

    •   9th Grade Literature/Composition (1 unit)
    •   American Literature/Composition (1 unit)
    •   2 Additional Units in English/Language Arts (At Josey we offer 10th Grade Literature/Composition and British Literuature)





    4 Units

    •    Algebra (1 unit)
    •    Geometry  (1 unit)
    •    Algebra II (1 unit)
    •    4th year math (1unit)

    4th year math options: Advanced Mathematical Decision Making, Pre-Calculus  or *AP Statistics, Dual Enrollment course  or other math courses. 

    *Note: Pre-Calculus is a pre-requisite



    4 Units

    •    Biology  (1 unit)
    •    Physical Science or Physics (1 unit)        
    •    Chemistry, Earth Systems, Environmental Science or an AP course (1 unit)
    •    Additional  Science  Unit (1 unit)

    *Any AP/IB science course may be substituted for the appropriate courses listed above.


    Social Studies

    3 Units

    •     American Government (.5 units)
    •     Economics (.5 units)
    •     World History or AP World History (1 unit)
    •     U.S. History or AP U.S. History (1 unit)       


    Health and Physical Education

    1 Unit

    •     Health and Safety (.5 units)
    •     Personal Fitness (.5 units)*

    *Three(3) units of credit in JROTC (Junior Reserve  Officer Training Corps) may be used to satisfy the requirements


    CTAE  (Career Technology, Agriculture, and Education)and/or Fine Arts, and/or Modern Language/Latin

    3 Units

    •       3 units in CTAE, Fine Arts or Modern Language/Latin

    *Students are encouraged to select courses in a focused area of interest


    Additional Elective Units



    4 Units

    For students entering a University System of Georgia institution, two units of the same World language is required; many colleges and universities require 3 units.    




    23 Units