NCAA Eligibility Center

Grade Level Walk Through and Weighted Grade Scales

  • Get Ready. Get Set. Go!

    Grade 9

    • Ask your counselor for a list of your high school’s NCAA core courses to make sure you take the right classes.

    Grade 10

    Grade 11

    • Check with your counselor to make sure you will graduate on time with the required number of NCAA core courses.
    • Take the ACT or SAT and submit your scores to the NCAA using code 9999.
    • At the end of the year, ask your counselor to upload your official transcript to the NCAA Eligibility Center.

    Grade 12

    • Finish your last NCAA core courses.
    • Take the ACT or SAT again, if necessary, and submit your scores to the NCAA using code 9999.
    • Complete all academic and amateurism questions in your NCAA Eligibility Center account at
    • After you graduate, ask your counselor to submit your final official transcript with proof of graduation to the NCAA Eligibility Center.

    Division I academic eligibility

    To be eligible to compete in NCAA sports during your first year at a Division I school, you must graduate high school and meet ALL the following requirements:

    • Complete 16 core courses:
      • Four years of English
      • Three years of math (Algebra 1 or higher)
      • Two years of natural/physical science (including one year of lab science if your high school offers it)
      • One additional year of English, math or natural/physical science
      • Two years of social science
      • Four additional years of English, math, natural/physical science, social science, foreign language, comparative religion or philosophy
    • Complete 10 core courses, including seven in English, math or natural/physical science, before your seventh semester. Once you begin your seventh semester, you may not repeat or replace any of those 10 courses to improve your core-course GPA.
    • Earn at least a 2.3 GPA in your core courses.
    • Earn an SAT combined score or ACT sum score matching your core-course GPA on the Division I sliding scale, which balances your test score and core-course GPA. If you have a low test score, you need a higher core-course GPA to be eligible. If you have a low core-course GPA, you need a higher test score to be eligible.




    HS Numeric Scale:







    HS Core Couse Weighted  Scale






    HS Advanced Placement Weighted Scale