Home Study Program

  • Georgia law requires parents or guardians who teach their children at home to submit to the Georgia Department of Education (GADOE) an annual Declaration of Intent form. A Declaration of Intent must be submitted to the Georgia Department of Education within 30 days after establishment of a home study program and by September 1 annually thereafter.

    The parent or guardian shall have the authority to execute any document required by law, rule, regulation, or policy to evidence the enrollment of a child in a home study program, the student’s full-time or part-time status, the student’s grades, or any other required educational information. This shall include, but not be limited to, documents for purposes of verification of attendance by the Department of Driver Services, for the purposes set forth in subsection (a.1) of Code section 40-5-22, documents required pursuant to Chapter 2 of Title 39 relating to employment of minors, and any documents required to apply for the receipt of the state of federal public assistance.


    Click here to complete the Home Study Program Declaration of Intent online.


Georgia Department of Education

  • Link to Georgia's Department of Education website


    Georgia’s home study law (O.C.G.A. § 20-2-690) requires homeschool parents/guardians to provide a basic academic educational program which includes the five content areas below. You may also teach other content areas.​ 

    • Mathematics,
    • English Language Arts,
    • Science,
    • Social Studies, and
    • Reading

    After you decide to begin a home study program, the most difficult decision is deciding which curriculum to use. The Georgia Department of Education does not endorse, promote or provide a curriculum for your home study program. Each parent/guardian must decide which curriculum is best for their child and then purchase the curriculum on their own. You may search the Internet for “homeschool curriculum reviews” and read what other people are saying about each curriculum so you can make an informed decision. It is advisable to choose your home study curriculum prior to registering your child/children by submitting the "Declaration of Intent" online. You must submit a declaration of Intent by September 1st or within 30 days after a home study program is established. You may employ a tutor. Parents must have a high school diploma or GED.​