The Federal Government operates the Office of Safe and Healthy Schools (OSHS).  OSHS is divided into three subordinate units including the Safe and Supportive Schools Group and the Healthy Students Group. 

    Safe and Supportive Schools Group (S3) administers Title IV, Safe and Drug-Free Schools and Communities Act (SDFSCA) authorized by ESEA, as amended, and other programs related to developing and maintaining safe, disciplined, and drug-free schools. In particular, this group administers the Safe and Supportive Schools (S3) grant program and a number of interagency agreements with a focus on but not limited to bullying, school recovery research, data collection, and drug and violence prevention activities. This group provides national leadership on issues and programs in character and civic education, including reporting on issues and programs, disseminating information, providing technical assistance, and providing financial assistance for citizenship and character education activities. These activities may be carried out by State and local educational agencies and by public and private nonprofit organizations.


    Healthy Students Group administers programs that promote violence prevention, alcohol abuse prevention, and the health and well-being of students and families as outlined in Title IV and V, Safe and Drug-Free Schools and Communities Act (SDFSCA) authorized by the ESEA, as amended. Programs authorized under this legislation provide financial assistance for activities that promote the health and well-being of students in elementary and secondary schools, and institutions of higher education. This group administers Safe Schools/Healthy Students, Physical Education, and School Counselors Programs. Activities may be carried out by local educational agencies and by public and private nonprofit organizations. 


    OSHS staff also implement several other provisions of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act as amended by the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001. These provisions are consistent with the office's mission to support the creation of safe, disciplined, drug-free and healthy learning environments for students, and include:

    • Gun-Free Schools Act (Title IV, Part A, Subpart 3, Section 4141)
    • Transfer of Disciplinary Records (Title IV, Part A, Subpart 4, Section 4155)
    • Pro-Children Act (Title IV, Part C)
    • Unsafe School Choice Option (Title IX, Part E, Section 9532)


    The Georgia Department of Education (GADOE) has a division that specifically relates to providing Safe and Drug-Free  Communities and Schools.  Programs administered through this division promote:

    • positive school climates
    • bullying prevention
    • suicide prevention
    • substance abuse prevention and education
    • child abuse prevention
    • human trafficking prevention

    For more information about the GADOE SDFCS, visit GADOE SDFCS Division



    In accordance with Title IV, as well as the federal and state government mission, The Richmond County School System promotes schools and communities that are safe and drug-free.