Zone Exemption Request

  • Conditions of Transfer Request

    A. Students requesting a transfer from one attendance zone to another within the Richmond County school district my apply for the transfer through the Superintendent's office. Applications may be completed at The response will be to the e-mail provided on the application. Approved transfers are valid for the current school year in which the approval is issued.


    B. Any school that is above 90% of their enrollment capacity is not eligible for consideration for students who are out of zone. In addition, any newly opened school is not eligible for school choice for a period of four years. 


    C. Acceptable behavior, arriving and being picked up in accordance with the school's time schedule, and attendance are required in order for exceptions to remain valid. 


    D. Transfers may be approved for extreme hardships ((Medical, Financial, and Bullying (with Bullying Packet) - (please attach documentation with completed application)) pending space availability. If space becomes an issue, students with zone exceptions must return to their zoned school. 


    E. ALL Attendance Zones for students attending the public schools of Richmond County will be enforced in accordance with federal desegration requirements (Policy JBCC).


    F. Bus transportation is not furnished to transfer students. 


    G. The principal has the discretion to withdraw any student not meeting the above conditions. 

  • Schools with Capacity


    Elementary Schools

    • A. Brian Merry
    • Barton Chapel

    • Bayvale
    • Blythe

    • Glenn Hills Elementary
    • Hephzibah Elementary

    • Lamar-Milledge

    • McBean

    • Meadowbrook

    • Sue Reynolds
    • Terrace Manor
    • Tobacco Road 
    • Willis Foreman

    Middle School

    • Tutt Middle School
    • Spirit Creek Middle School 

    • Hephzibah Middle School

    High School

    • Academy of Richmond County

    • Butler High
    • Cross Creek High

    • Glenn Hills High

    • Hephzibah High 
    • T.W. Josey

    • Lucy C. Laney

    • Westside